Back to Vehicle safety
Owner

Owner - Why has my car been restricted?

Your car listing may be temporarily or permanently restricted if it no longer meets Getaround’s safety, activity, or compliance requirements.

When a listing can be restricted

A car listing can be restricted in the following cases:

  • The car or owner is inactive on the platform (for example, if you don’t log in for a long time or consistently decline or ignore rental requests).
  • Several rental requests have been received but not consulted. The car will automatically reappear in search results 7 days after suspension.
  • The car no longer complies with Getaround’s Terms of Service or applicable laws.
  • The car description or photos do not match reality (for instance, missing features or inaccurate images).
  • The car presents a mechanical or safety risk for drivers. Depending on the situation, existing bookings may be maintained or cancelled. Suspension can be lifted once the problem is resolved.

When a listing can be permanently removed

A car listing may be permanently deleted if:

  • The car has reached 250,000 km or is 15 years old based on its registration date.
  • The car repeatedly fails to comply with platform rules or safety standards. Confirmed rentals may still go ahead if the car does not present a safety risk for the driver.

Important: AirTag use is strictly prohibited

Installing any kind of tracker such as an AirTag in a listed car is strictly forbidden for privacy and GDPR reasons.

If an AirTag or similar device is found in a car:

  • The listing will be immediately blocked.
  • The owner must provide proof that the device has been fully removed before their listing can be reactivated.
  • If a driver reports, and provides evidence that an AirTag or other tracking device was installed in the car, Getaround reserves the right to retain the owner’s earnings for that rental.